A relationship like any other

I love my home. I love to come home. I hate to leave. It’s where I grew up. I always thought it would be where I end up, and I might.

The thing that I am coming to learn though, is that my relationship with my home is like any other. It’s not perfect. It’s something I’ve been pondering lately, so this will likely be a two part post, but things are getting a little more complicated as I grow up.

Like I said, I hate to leave home. I always have, and it hasn’t become any easier. My sister said something to me recently though. She said, “Your past is here.” And she’s right.

As I come closer to graduation and starting my “real life” as I’ve been calling it, I’ve been thinking more and more about where I want to end up. I like Winnipeg. I didn’t always, but I’ve come to like it quite a bit. I like who I am in Winnipeg. I’m not sure if it’s home though.

Minnedosa is home, and it always has been. I have no doubts that it always will be. But maybe not in the physical sense. Please allow me to ponder this and gather my thoughts more. I’ll be back.

One thought on “A relationship like any other

Leave a comment