Something to look forward to

I have loved halloween for as long as I remember. The candy was a plus, for sure, but I think I liked the night itself. I like to look forward to things. This can be agonizing, but it’s exciting to see something in your near future that you just know is going to be good.

There were the years my mother absolutely loaded my sister and I up with warm clothing to go trick-or-treating with mom and dad; I was the chubbiest little butterfly ever. There was the year when I wouldn’t go trick-or-treating because my cousin Brett was wearing a scary mask, so instead my dad made me hot dogs and Kraft Dinner and I stayed home. There were the years where I would go trick-or-treating with a few friends and my sister — usually all dressing up in similar costumes. There were the years when along with trick-or-treating with a group of about 20 friends, I would also look forward to the junior high dance to dress up in the lamest cute costume so I would still look “pretty” for the guy I liked at the time. Then there were the years I would look forward to the halloween social that my friends and I were going to.

Through all of these years, halloween was something I looked forward to — sometimes for weeks. I had, what I think are, a ton of great costumes. Some bought, some homemade. I’ve been a wizard, a cheerleader, a scarecrow, a flamenco dancer, a maid, the “walk of shame”. But one costume outside of these stands out. This may be because it was so recent, but it may be because no one at the social my friends and I went to knew who those creepy people in the painted suits were. And some of them are still haunted to this day.

Two years ago my friends and I decided to make Teletubbies costumes. Homemade. We bought chemical spray suits and dyed them the telletubbie colours, headbands that we affixed each teletubbie head pattern antenna thingy, pillows to make us teletubbie chubby, and silver tulle to make our teletubbie belly screens. But we couldn’t just bear our human faces all night. Oh no, we had to have plain white teletubbie faces. So this happened,

IMG_42297889224447

And no one has been the same since.

Happy Halloween.

One thought on “Something to look forward to

Leave a comment